About Hefei
About Anhui
Contact Information
DREAMS (English )
SPD (English | 中文)
SESS ( 中文)
USTC (English | 中文)
New page

Anhui Province lies in the hinterland of Yangtze Delta where there is great economic development potential. The Province covers an area of 139,600 square kilometers. The population of Anhui province reached 66.75million by the end of 2007. Anhui has 17 main cities, namely Hefei, Huaibei, Suzhou, Bozhou, Bengbu, Fuyang, Huannan, Chuzhou, Liu’an, Ma’anshan, Chaohu, Wuhu, Xuancheng, Tongling, Chizhou, Anqing and Huangshan, 5 county-level cities and 56 counties. 

[The Provincial Capital City--Hefei]

Hefei, the capital city of Anhui, is the center of the province’s politics, economy, science, education, culture and transportation. Under its jurisdiction,Hefei has four districts and three counties. Hefei covers a total area of 7,029 square kilometers, and  

the population had reached 4.56 million by the end of 2005. Hefei has much to offer. It is the nation’s only pilot city for scientific and technical innovation. It is one of the most important scientific and educational cities in the nation, with more than 30 universities and institutions of higher learning and more than 190 institutions of scientific research.The world-renowned University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) and the Hefei Branch of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) are both in Hefei. Hefei ranks top among the cities of the same category in China for its intellectual resources. In addition, Hefei is called the "Green City", with forest covering 36.2 per cent of its total area. 


Anhui is full of abundant tourism resources in China. There are not only beautiful natural scenes, but also such man-made cultural sights with Chinese characteristics as Buddhism, Taoism and Hui culture which are time-honored.

Yellow Mountain and the ancient villages in Xidi and Hongcun in Yi County are ranked among the World Heritage List by UNESCO. Anhui's possession of the relics on the list wins the third place in the whole country. Moreover, Yellow Mountain is the world cultural heritage, the world natural relic, as well as the world geological park.

Anhui's possession of 9 national level key scenic spots, including Yellow Mountain, Jiuhua Mountian, Tianzhu Mountain, Langya Mountain, Qiyun Mountain, Caishi, Chaohu and Xin'an River etc. is ranked the ninth in the whole country.

Click to Enlarge 
 Mt. Huangshan (The Yellow Mountains)
   Mt. Jiuhua
   Mt. Tianzhu
   Mt. Qiyun
   Emerald Valley
   Taiping Lake
   Chaohu Lake
   Xin'an River
   Tiantang Zhai (Heavenly Village)



Copyright 2010 [ESS@USTC]. All rights reserved